Laclede's Landing Historic DistrictApprox. Time: 3 hours
Activity Level: Easy to Moderate

Laclede's Landing - In 1763, a French fur trapper named Pierre Laclede, along with Auguste Chouteau, set out from New Orleans to explore the Illinois Country to establish a trading post. In 1764, he chose the west bank of the Mississippi River, north of the River des Peres and south of the Missouri River. In 1784, the site was cleared and temporary cabins were built. Laclede named the settlement St. Louis in honor of the patron saint of the king of France.

The village of St. Louis contained three streets: La Grande Rue, now First Street; Rue d'Eglise, now Second Street; and Rue des Granges, now Third Street. Soon the village became the center of commerce with furs as the main source of exchange for goods.