Maharaha Jaisingh ObservatoryApprox. Time: 0 hours
Activity Level: Easiest

Designed by Maharaja Jai Singh II in 1728, this observatory is the largest of five observatories he founded, with the modernistic structures expertly and uniquely built to observe the movements of sun, moon, planets and the stars. The large masonry instruments were so precisely done that they can still measure local time; the sun’s declination, azimuth and altitude; the declination of fixed stars and planets; and the time of a solar eclipse. Jai Singh’s other observatories are located at Delhi, Ujjain, Mathura & Varanasi.